What are Connecticut’s wage and hour laws?

In 2015, drunk drivers killed 797 people across the state of Florida including 48 people in Alachua County alone.

Upon getting a job, Connecticut employees know that they are expected to perform certain responsibilities for the benefit of their employers. But, what they also need to know is that those same employers are expected to provide certain things to their employees.

Part of what employers are supposed to do is abide by all laws governing payments made to their workers. These laws are one way that the government attempts to ensure that all workers are treated fairly and respected for the efforts that they give to their employers. Understanding some of these laws is important for anyone employed in Connecticut.

Minimum wage in Connecticut

According to the Connecticut Department of Labor, the state has a defined minimum wage that adjusts each year. As of the start of 2016, that
minimum wage was $9.60 per hour. It is set to increase to $10.10 per hour once 2017 commences.

It should be noted that any person under the age of 18 who works for a government entity or in the agriculture industry may receive a lower minimum wage. The threshold for these workers is 85 percent of the state’s standard minimum wage. Restaurant employees may also be subject to different compensation guidelines.

Overtime benefits

Overtime is required to be paid to an employee who works more than 40 hours in a work week if employed in a non-exempt position. Salaried employees may not be eligible for this
overtime pay.

Breaks and meal time benefits

No break times are mandated by law for any employee in Connecticut. However, a 30-minute meal time is required to be provided for anyone working more than seven and a half hours at one time. This meal break is to be unpaid.

Other benefits provided by employers

Connecticut law does not mandate an employer to provide sick time, vacation time or paid holidays to any employee. Certainly, these perks are considered standard by many but they are not required by law.

Part- and full-time designations

In Connecticut, each employer may decide what it considers to be a part-time employee versus a full-time employee. There are no laws that identify these designations based upon the number of weekly hours worked or any other factor.

Federal oversight

People who are concerned about fair treatment may file complaints with the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division. This agency monitors things like wages, overtime, recordkeeping, hours actually worked and child labor.

Connecticut residents who have questions about their fair treatment and payment at work should talk to an attorney. This will give people the chance to understand what is and is not required by law to determine how to proceed when a violation of labor laws is suspected.